top of page

"The Secrets Summer Keeps"

Hello everyone and welcome to a new Blog.

This Blog has the title "The secrets summer keeps" the poem is featured as my poem of the week and comes from my collection of the same name released in 2010.

Love poems, those about loss or the joys of love, feature throughout my poems and lyrics. The more rhymey ones lending themselves to adapting as a song (lyrics) those in a more free format, tending towards poems more.

Here's another from the secrets collection:

More Nonsense about Love

Love is like a Llama, all soft and down.

Gets you smiling like a fool, all over town.

Love comes like a tiger, putting ants in your pants.

Those bubbly happy feelings, gotta dance, dance, dance!

Love swings like chimpanzee, a fey and spriteful imp.

Funny how Lolita’s pout, can cure the codger’s limp.

Be still my beating heart, snares, hi-hat, and tymp!

Love sniffs like a puritan whenever sex is spoken.

Yet the book of love has well thumbed leaves,

And to these it will fall open.

Love strips the rug from under,

The quiet prude or loud mouth’s thunder.

Inverting all, confusing all,

No wonder it’s a wonder!

Poetry is a broad church and has enough room for a lighter humorous poem!

The following poem/lyric started as a blues poem, but when I made the recording (MP3) it turned into a reggae dub, with the title "dub is where I go", which wasn't planned but it just came out that way. It probably reflects the fact that I listen to a lot of different styles of music, and so my influences can pop up unexpectedly.

Blues Is Where I Go

When I sit and play the blues on my piano

Those flattened notes take me

To another time, another place.

Feeling free, relaxed and peaceful

I play blue

So that others hear the grace.

Can you hear the power?

Telling loud or soft and low

Music has a choice of turns

Blues is where I go.

Blues is where I go

When the day turns not so right.

Blues is where I go

Holds me soft until the light.

Blues is where I go

Try it once and then you’ll see.

For disappointed people

It can be a remedy.

Got a view beyond my window sill,

To the sidewalk down below.

Folks with their concerns and struggles

Just what, how bad,

Only each one knows.

Have you got the feeling?

Let the melody grow

Music has a choice of turns

Blues is where I go.

Blues is where I go

When the day turns not so right.

Blues is where I go

Holds me soft until the light.

Blues is where I go

Try it once and then you’ll see.For disappointed people

It can be a remedy.

That's all for this week, keep safe.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page