top of page

Inspiration does not make appointments

All Blog contents © Louis J. Casson 2018 all rights reserved.

Welcome to my Blog.

Recently a friend of mine commented: “Inspiration makes no appointments”. This was in response to my sharing that I had intended to take a break from poetry and lyrics writing for a few months, after editing my last two poetry collections (From the garden of my mind, parts 1 & 2)

I find that the process of writing is like that; ideas and lines pop into your mind, than at a certain point, you feel it’s the right time to write out the lines, with some minor nips and tucks to get the final version.

This feeling – inspiration knocking to be admitted- is something I’ve learned to partially ignore, knowing that the final version is not yet but some part of my mind is working /receiving the nearly complete version. At others times – even in the middle of the night- I have to rise to write out the lines even if they are not yet complete, this to avoid the fact that in the morning I won’t recall them and they will be lost.

Overall the conclusion is that it’s best to welcome inspiration, even if it calls at an inconvenient time; because if you don’t welcome inspiration in when it calls, then it will go away. Keep doing this it learns not to call!

Here’s a poem taken “From the garden of my mind, part 1”.

This song is mine

This song is mine

We have dealt before

And we’ll deal again.

We know all the rules

The expectations in the game.

In city streets or suburb yards

When you play so long

You’ll almost know

All each other’s cards.

Everything’s a gamble

You could win or lose

We only play with what we’re given

Seldom get to choose.

So take another spin, another chance

The wheel of fate begins

Again its dance.

Whether win or lose

Stalemate or a draw.

Focussed on the action

Nothing here can bore.

This song is mine, the thrill divine.

Gives jolts, a certain tingle,

Down my spine.

And if the heat’s too high

Excitement starts to rule.

I’ll step outside to fly,

To feel the cool.

Thanks for reading my Blog, till next time keep safe.

Best wishes, Louis

All Blog contents © Louis J. Casson 2018 all rights reserved.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page