top of page

Waiting to collect?

All contents- poem and Blog text - © Louis J. Casson 2018 all rights reserved.

Hello everyone.

Here’s a couple of new pieces I wrote this month:

“Waiting to collect”

The seed for this one was clearing out my garage, then realising that I find myself surrounded by “stuff” most of it musical related! “Acquisition syndrome” is something that creeps up on us all,; not precisely hoarding; more being a picker or collector that gets way out of hand.

“That’s how it was”

I was watching the film Gosford Park on television, and also recalled a comment made by relatives on events in the past. Rather than impose my feelings or views, I’ll let you read the piece and form your own thoughts on it.

Autumn is now firmly with us in England, but bonfire night (5th November) and Christmas approach to look forward to.

Enjoy the sunshine.

Best wishes,

Louis

Waiting to collect

How much do you need?

Or what makes up enough?

Like that fat kid in Willy Wonka

I just keep gathering stuff.

So give me everything

Whether needed or not.

Even worn out or useless

It all will hit the spot.

Some are born natural givers, while others live to get.

There’s that day coming, no space to get more

That’s the day I will regret.

I regret, I regret, there’s no more to collect.

Sat here waiting for that “better”

Hasn’t arrived yet.

I regret, I regret, there’s no more to collect.

Sat here waiting for that “better”

Hasn’t arrived yet.

That’s how it was

That’s how it was, let’s not be too hard.

On the past, different rules for those times.

Yet despite your shoulder shrugging flummery

The stain lingers of injustice

And human against human crimes.

That’s how it was

And we switch off our torch revealing dark history

Leaving us blissful, not having to see.

How it changes and still continues.

Under different ways for you and for me.

These poems/lyrics copyright Louis J. Casson 2018, all rights reserved.

http://johncasson57.wixsite.com/louisjcasson

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page