top of page

God's Black Swans - spirituality

Hello and welcome to my Blog.

This week’s poems / lyrics focus on philosophical matters - spirituality. All pieces taken from my 2015 collection “Heaven and Hell”.

God’s Black Swans

God’s black swans.

Gently floating across

The pond of certainty’s grace.

Still leaving rippling doubt;

However smooth and gentle.

Printed on thought’s Menu card –

“All is not to be eaten”.

Intrigued, the smaller finer print examined,

And I read:

“Basic thought groups are provided to feed your cognitions;

However moderation and discernment are a commended and the necessary Adjunct to the enjoyment of your mental feast.

Excess and uncritical ingestion may

To delusion lead to say the least.

As Patron of this establishment I fear

Objects and beliefs in the mind’s eye

May assume a significance

An adherence to credence

Far larger and weightier than they should appear.”

In summary dear diner, I suggest

Some hierarchy of creeds comestible,

Of viand thoughts,

May be best.”

So pre-warned by the friendly Patron celestial

I chose with care, to fill my mind full well.

And built my creed in hierarchy with some care,

Avoiding, discarding those unsound bricks

And flaky mortar, here and there.

To end up with those certainty’s both firm and true.

Based on what I stand by and could defend

Not in other’s opinions, dogma, diktat or directions;

Their – “If I were you”.

Relationship not mere religion,

I’m keeping God’s Black Swans on my Menu.

A Differing Faith

Why do you say that?

Easy-peasy religion,

Prayer catches gifts falling.

Why do you think that?

Candy cotton Christian,

Reeling out priestly platitudes.

My God and faith seem afar;

No easy God I wrestle with,

While others hold Sunday in a jar.

To The High Fells’ Places - an Ascent

To the high fell’s places, ascending I once walked.

Feeling boots on earth along the path, legs and chest toiling. Steady following the well-marked course

Others had scrubbed before.

I thought: We are just softer, paler stones. Smaller cousins to the darker granite, part incensed in mist. Be friendly stones, though silent, here in Eden regained.

At the top I paused, regaining my breath. And I looked out gentle minded, receiving a soft tune, and sang:

We are fallen,

Fallen.

Fallen out from under His grace.

Chased away by the Angel

To seek again His face.

We are fallen,

Fallen.

Fallen from the perfect degree.

Separated by Sin and the Tempter

Till we accept Galilee.

We are fallen,

Fallen.

Fallen till the kingdom come.

Waiting for His glorious appearing

Angels going to take us home.

Waiting for His glorious appearing

Angels going to take us home.

So ending, I looked and knelt to a cup of water

In a small pool greenly mossed.

Cupped hands, I drank the cold crisp water,

Receiving it’s refreshing too on my face and arms.

I stood in my green hilled church to view below,

Nestled in the dale, one built by men with hands and slate,

But better made in hearts.

Why did you ascend to the high fells’ places – what looking for?

There were no insights whispered then, given or obvious.

Only in the descending path to town,

There in the bustle and fair, would the unveiling come.

In the remembering of the high fells’ places.

Lost Rooms

No awesome swooning to the heavenlies

or in the spirit how greatly sweetly slain.

Just the feel of earth between the toes

of bare calloused feet.

Dust rising from the goats

and sheep flocks passing,

The steady growing crops ripened

from green to gold

in spring and summer rain.

No prayers pressed in,

fervent tones up to the highest height.

Palms raised, eyes shut, to the continuing refrain.

Simply the Almighty’s face reflected,

veiled by moving clouds,

in a rain filled hollow left by cattle hooves

across the plain.

Without ritual pomp and rich vestments,

the grandiose organ’s silent in this space.

Merely the whispering murmurings of the Lord

and the night wind flapping the tent.

As under cold stars, prayers, thanksgivings

are simply said.

In simple conversation, sincere yet unadorned

the heart speaks to Him,

receiving back His friendly grace.

Distanced and lost:

I rise from my empty yet ornamented shell,

to seek the simpler god-filled richer place.

Those lost rooms of my youth,

where He waits to greet me back,

just face to face.

The Love Within

New every

Morning is

His love. I

only have

the heart’s

still space

in quiet to receive my grace. My Lord, my King.

His praise and honour, in daily prayer I bring.

Quietly humble, I wait to be with blessings filled.

Fruits of the

Spirit, gifts

and signs

will * be

revealed. A

simple chair

placed in a

loft space

room, small

yet it’s large

enough for

He and I to

commune.

In brief yet

fervent mo-

ments We

are gently

led, to Him

and heaven,

through dawn

and so to

bed.

Till my next Blog, keep well and safe.

Regards,

Louis

All poems taken from “Heaven and Hell” (Louis J. Casson 2015)

This Blog and all contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2016

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page