top of page

Post Brexit Blues

Post Brexit vote, was watching the film Lincoln on TV last last. I was struck how even in 1865, the horse trading, deceptions etc of politics were all around. Could not resist a thrill in hearing the name John A Casson mentioned - one of those who backed the 13th amendment of the USA constitution abolishing slavery. Not that John A Casson is any ancestor of mine as far as I am aware! In poem of the day on my home page; "It is what it is" is my riposte to a phrase used , in my view just to sort of shrug off any thinking or to challenge changing things. It belongs in the same category as "Get over it" ?

Post Brexit, we are in the period of great uncertainty. Powerless to really influence anything we just have to wait to see what comes next.

Here's two pieces from the upcoming collection "No difference" scheduled for release in September 2016.

"Some rules..." considers the sifting out the historical/nostalgic from things to progress forward and develop further.

"On the other side..." is a love poem lyric.

Some rules of passing time

We all reach the point

Where youthful heroes die and fade.

Where former passions mellow morphing

Adapting into new directions.

You find yourself sifting your CD collection into

Classic-memorabilia, new categories to match your musical twists and turns and along your paths.

So the journey to the guitar store was disappointing,

Merely a visit in in vain

Former delights and fascinations just

Abraded flotsam washed up into banks

Left to dry by times tide.

Obsoletes, worth only curio value.

But along comes something else, you follow caught up in the flow of exciting new to be explored, who would have thought?

We celebrate the former heroes who pass and on whose work

We move to a new season tending our greener grass.

Amen and amen in ways unseen and uncertain

The life of beauty continues changing as it journeys born again.

Rules discovered later to the now do not apply

Within this freedom, I move, my artistic licenced alibi.

On the other side of summer (she waits for me)

In the springtime in the sunshine of an early spring

When lover’s hearts start yearning

Flowers grow and birds they sing.

O to woo and go a courting

For I seek someone for me

On the other side of summer

She waits for me.

Will she wear a dress of satin?

Has she blonde or flame red hair?

Be wild and coy and playful

Or just be still in her chair?

O there’s no way of knowing

What kind of girl she’ll be

On the other side of summer

She waits for me.

I’ll keep seeking and keep hoping

Though I see the autumn come.

For when I least expect it then

I’ll find my special one.

O there’s love for her here in my heart

She’ll treasure you will see.

On the other side of summer

She waits for me.

On the other side of summer

She waits for me.

Till next time, keep safe.

This Blog and all contents copyright Louis J Casson 2016.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page