top of page

The Eagle Flies (on Monday)

As I write this Monday 11th July, Angela Eagle has announced her bid to be leader of the Labour party in the UK.

Being a playful imp and joker at times, I had best get the jokes out of the way, i.e. Fly Like an Eagle (Steve Miller Band) and Stormy Monday Blues ("...the eagle flies on Friday..", so sang Long John Baldry)

YouTube Links to these are at the end of my Blog.

On to the poetry/lyrics. Three pieces taken from my 2011 collection "The Secrets Summer Keeps". The Poem of the week on my Home Page "Morning Joys" and two others..

Winds Hot, Winds Cold, both New and Old

You offer me your pool of love,

Delights first hot,

Then spent,

Too soon to cool.

What moment made me then your fool?

First look, or kiss,

Or absence cruel?

Our winds of love blow hot, then cold,

Then glow remembering.

The oldest tale begins and ends,

Starts over new, unending.

Here you’ll remain with other loves,

Locked safe in my tending.

‘Till others chance remarks,

Will free you dancing.

Trying Blues

Kept on working

Till my back it ached.

Just kept on doing

Till my eyes were baked.

Been working in the sun

All this long hot day.

Just to give you a guitar

But you would not play.

Kept on searching

Till my shoes wore down.

Just kept on searching

For some money in town.

Been searching here and there

In all this wilderness.

Just to find you pretty things

But you don’t care less.

So I stopped my trying

Got the message clear.

Just stopped my trying

Since there’s no love here.

I’ve been packing my things

For another start.

No use trying to please you

Now you broke my heart.

Just been packing my things

For another start.

No use trying to please you

Now you broke my heart.

Till the next Blog, keep safe

This Blog and contents copyright Louis J Casson 2016

"Eagle links", click to go to...

Steve Miller Band

https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=youtube+steve+miller+band+fly+like+an+eagle&view=detail&mid=783E366914AB0B8BC2EC783E366914AB0B8BC2EC&FORM=VIRE

Stormy Monday Blues, Long John Baldry

https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=youtube+long+john+baldry+stormy+monday+blues&view=detail&mid=738C6A4CD1E84216D0D2738C6A4CD1E84216D0D2&FORM=VIRE

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page