top of page

Keeping on the sunnyside, positive!

Hello and welcome to my Blog.

This week’s title is “Keeping on the Sunny Side” – because in the course of writing poems and lyrics some of them could be placed in the category of positive psychology, i.e. looking at what’s right and working or could be taken and enhanced, instead of merely seeing problems that need fixing.

I also write poems that are more country or blues oriented – but that’s the way of grounding yourself to the realities of the world we all exist in.

But on to the positive!

Run

Run for the world is full of magic

Waiting to give to you

The gifts are full and free like

Outstretched arms before the hug

When you know the love is true.

Just skip to the place

Where rainbow dreams are replayed

All sparkly and new

Tasting like fresh bread on your tongue

And no hopes ever betrayed.

Scrabble to the highest mounts above

See the world laid out in endless plains

Shining rivers snaking through

All grasses, crops and beasts

Rain weeping at the beauty beneath.

Through all my years

Here under the sun

No better poet’s work than building

A map so I and others can run.

The last two lines say my mission as a poet – to facilitate thinking, seeking, to comment also, but it also parallels my “day job” as a coach so that’s interesting! I’d also add that if you are creative then the arts and music are not the only fields you can apply your talents to.

The next poem is meant as poem but also an exercise in affirming self-value. Hence the footnote * Read it through as it is first, then insert your name where the *’s are, see how you feel after personalizing it to you!

The Affirmations

No sun can set, yet leaves * better wise.

Or smile when seen,

Can fail to light *’s eyes.

The winds may chill, as from the trees fall leaves.

But still the green spring comes,

*’s hope believes.

Life’s stone’s disturb the pool, reflections concealed.

Soon smoothed,

The returned beauty is revealed.

When life’s way dims and pleasures seem in dearth;

Friends hands will bear * up,

To resolve’s birth.

Keep these lines * around you, may they mean;

These affirmations close by,

Read and often seen.

For what we think and dwell on, oft it’s said;

Sets scripts for life,

Our feet follow our head.

* Replace and insert your name here to unlock the inner “blessing” of these lines.

I’ll end the Blog with a subject I always return to – love – surely one of the most important positives in the universe.

When My Heart Belongs to You

When my heart belongs to you

O happy captive, I don’t want to be free.

It’s a place, I’m held,

Can’t you see?

That all desire to roam elsewhere,

Just leaves me.

If my heart belongs to you

Then in the world, there’s no safer keeping place.

It’s a refuge, warm and content,

Full of grace and loving light,

In your eyes, your face.

When my heart belongs to you

I know those truths that only lovers know.

A certainty of moments,

Continuing and free.

That acceptance lying,

Beyond any detail or life itself,

Would ever place my heart with thee.

Till my next Blog, keep safe.

Warm regards,

Louis

All poems taken from “See You in the Big Time” (Louis J. Casson 2011)

This Blog and all contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2016

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page