top of page

Them Blues can make us grow!

Hello, welcome to this week’s Blog.

This week’s poems are taken from my collection “Blues hung up to dry” (2010). Now for poem of the week, on the home page but worth repeating to start the week with a lift!

A Big Blues Blessing to You

So sad to see you going,

Here’s a Big Blues Blessing to You.

(I say) so sad to see you going,

Here’s a Big Blues Blessing to You.

Don’t know when, we’ll meet again

But I’ll be smiling when we do.

So sad to see you leaving,

‘Cos it’s closing time, good night.

So sad to see you leaving,

‘Cos it’s closing time, good night.

Here’s wishing you sweet dreams Baby

With a lover to hold you tight.

So sad to see you leaving,

Here’s a Big Blues Blessing to You.

(I say) So sad to see you leaving,

Here’s a Big Blues Blessing to You.

Don’t know when, you’ll call again

But I’m here waiting till you do.

Mr Blues is a piece where the Blues is set as a person, that taps us all on the shoulder now and then, to remind that with sunshine some rain will fall at times. But right now my garden needs some rain or the new plants won’t grow, so for me adversity builds resilience and personal growth.

Mr Blues

Tired, and it feels the day won’t ever end

Just so tired,

Today has all the troubles life could send.

Feel the cold rain seeping

Through the holes in your shoes

Just a small hello from Mr. Blues.

Broke, seems that no-one has no time

Completely broke, haven’t got a nickel or a dime.

Feel the cold rain seeping

Through the holes in your shoes

Just a small hello from Mr. Blues.

Future, if you got none what’s to worry over?

What lies ahead,

A doubtful dusty road for this here rover.

Feel the cold rain seeping

Through the holes in your shoes

Just a small hello from Mr. Blues.

This last poem is a blues, but also about a positive decision, to look beyond setbacks – like our Olympians on team GB in Rio – choosing to go on to better.

Blues Hung Up to Dry

Been hanging up my Blues,

Watch and see them slowly dry.

Got an expectation,

The sun will shine by and by.

Hanging up my blues,

Flagging up I’m choosing better days.

Been hanging up my sorrows,

Wringing out past misery.

All those hurts and memories inside,

No more will be haunting me.

Hanging up my blues,

Flagging up I’m choosing better days.

Soul laundering with my woman,

Baby’s got that healing touch.

Whitening spots, ironing wrinkles,

Feeling new, means so much.

Hanging up my blues,

Flagging up I’m choosing better days.

Till my next Blog, keep well and safe.

Regards,

Louis

All poems taken from “Blues hung up to dry” (Louis J. Casson 2010)

This Blog and all contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2016

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page