top of page

Faith , Humor & Love, a Blues call

Hello everyone, welcome to this week’s Blog.

More poems / lyrics taken from my collection “Blues hung up to dry” (2010). This week has a Blues focus; selecting some themes found in the Blues: faith, love and humor. First up faith…

Mission Dream Blues

Deep asleep prayed to my God,

Received a dream

Woke up and followed through

People listen clear now,

Clear now.

Deep asleep prayed to my God,

Received a dream

Woke up and followed through

Singing out backmost row,

Backmost row.

Set out on the mission given:

Got to wear me a new robe,

Brand new pants and trousers too

All dressed for the journey,

Journey on.

Won’t’ believe their eyes and ears

Just stand amazed

Changes working through me

Folks pay heed deep,

Pay heed deep.

Won’t’ believe their eyes and ears

Just stand amazed

Changes working through me

When you got His boldness you can’t creep,

You can’t creep.

Had no rehearsal, it’s the big time now

You’d best believe

Understand what you see.

Seeking light you’ll find eventually,

Eventually.

The Blues has humor and joy – here’s some humor…

Can’t Be Asked Blues

Can’t be bother to tie my shoes, put the morning kettle on

I guess today there’s no bacon, eggs or tea.

Don’t feel like going out, even if the sun is shining

Look in your dictionary, under apathy that would be me.

Don’t feel like today is the day to progress

All my motions are in slo-mo, strictly under duress.

Got my can’t be asked Blues

Leave me alone, don’t you bother me

Got the can’t be asked Blues.

Can’t be bothered to wake the Wife, for some morning joys.

Just lie dead under the covers, ignore the morning light.

Don’t want to get up early, to go to work

All that office and computers, such a frightful sight!

Don’t feel like today is the day for success

All my motions are in slo-mo, strictly under duress.

Got my can’t be asked Blues

Leave me alone, don’t you bother me

Got the can’t be asked Blues.

Just open wide my front door, let the dog run out fast and free

I guess when he’s tired and hungry, sometime he I’ll see

Can’t be bothered to walk my dog, round the block and back

When it comes to motivation, I just don’t feel the lack.

Don’t feel like today is the day to progress

All my motions are in slo-mo, strictly under duress.

Got my can’t be asked Blues

Leave me alone, don’t you bother me

Got the can’t be asked Blues.

These last two poems cover the sad side of the blues…

Keep On Pouring

I don’t mind the sound of the rain

If it’s the right side

Of my window pane.

Feeling different on the outside

Where it’s cold.

Keep on pouring the honey on

Keep on pouring your sweetness

While you’re doing me wrong.

Stormy winds blowing in the night

Sounding worse, seeming better

In the morning’s light.

Could be just a difference in me

Or maybe you.

Keep on pouring the honey on

Keep on pouring your sweetness

While you’re doing me wrong.

Leaves shook down from the trees

To the ground

In the wind all dancing

Dancing around

Reflecting my loving you

Hating you, loving you,

Swirling all around

You baby in me.

Keep on pouring the honey on

Keep on pouring your sweetness

While you’re doing me wrong.

Blue Juke Baby

Put another quarter in the Blue Juke baby

‘Cause it don’t play for free.

It don’t take dimes

Just trampled dreams and lovers crimes

Broken hearts mixed in misery.

So put another quarter in the Blue Juke baby

The next one’s about you and me.

Put another quarter in the Blue Juke baby

‘Cause it just pays no mind.

About your hearts and flowers

Well it just sends showers

Cold winds, cloudy all the time.

So put another quarter in the Blue Juke baby

The way you love me it’s a crime.

So put another quarter in the Blue Juke baby

The way you love me it’s a crime.

Till the next Blog, keep well and safe.

Regards,

Louis

All poems taken from “Blues hung up to dry” (Louis J. Casson 2010)

This Blog and all contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2016

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page