top of page

Poems? It is what it is folks!

Hello every one, welcome to this weeks Blog.

It is what it is, is the title of my 2015 collection, being a sort of mixed bag or lyrics and poems. the poem of the week (same title) is a play on poetry, where the poet is a sort of jester, throwing out lines, that get the meaning from the readers. There's a touch of impishness there too, and self vanity, as most writers/poets need an audience to feel their work is important and they are too (even if this is not the case!)

I'll refrain from making comments on the pieces, to get out of the way as it were, so you the readers can glean your own resonances and meanings. A poem of lyrics has several lives: every piece I write has its meaning to me, then the page reader, then those who listen when its read out or played in a song.

Silent Bliss

The most boring speech in the entire world

Can be about yourself.

Trouble is you may not know

And no one tells you.

Those words and sentences you should

Have left unspoken on the shelf.

Self-obsessed and banging on

Caught up in an endless repeating loop.

Syllables are slippery things and

Before you know it your

Blah blah der der blah

Has swiftly flown the coop.

Quit. Savour the silence

You garrulous sucker!

Just make a silent O

Slowly exhale

Feel the breath over your lips pucker.

And the grace and calm serenity

Of pausing to allow others and the world

To exist, to get in.

Is worth the effort

To uncover other words and stories.

So simply just begin.

It is what it is, #2

“It is what it is”

Some handy phrase.

Use @ will, flip the thinking

Out of your days.

No reason in the words

Just something to say.

Illogical sound

Helps you get through your day.

“It’s not what it was”

Are some words getting better.

See your mind’s kicking in

Even if considering the weather.

“It’s not what it could be”

Leads to considering now.

And some beauty building dreams?

Get real, don’t have a cow!

Chickasaw Blues

I’m little but I’m loaded, chock a top of love for you.

Said I’m little but I’m loaded, chock a top of love for you.

Just give me all your sweetness

You know baby that will do.

Woke me up this morning, and the first thing that I saw

Woke me up this morning, and the first thing that I saw

My baby’s a driving

Going to Okolona

I could sit here wondering, play my ukulele all the day

I could sit here wondering, play my ukulele all the day

Or maybe find myself a new girl today

A new girl today.

Okolona please don’t begin

Drive my girl into the house sin

If I catch her in the arms of another fellow

Well its rage I’ll be not my usual mellow

(For Chickasaw, Mississippi)

Much improved thank you

I am sarcastic, so it is alleged.

Thank you God, I have improved from:

Angry, deluded, too rational, too intellectual, cheeky and disrespectful. A bumbler, away with the faeries, full time comedian who simply can’t sing and no musician too.

To list a few.

God provides the Teflon to assist all debris to flow,

So He views me clean.

Not every tsunami of shite sticks.

Show me something

The worlds a nest of vapours

Flowing past around me, diverse capers.

All those keeping true, doing their best,

To fill each moment, chasing thought,

So it can’t rest.

Show me something real.

Show me there’s another way of living, to be.

Show me something real.

Show me there’s some truth in all I see.

I mine the black vein, of crooked men’s hearts.

Refining the works, of their shady arts.

And though they are cruel, to each other and some.

Doing good, alone in my corner,

Seems I’m the only one.

Show me something good.

Show me there’s still a loving way to be.

Show me something good.

Show me there’s some love in all I see.

Till next time keep safe and well, Louis

All poems/lyrics taken from "It is what it is" copyright 2015 Louis J. Casson This Blog and contents copyright Louis J. Casson 2016

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page