top of page

Love is...the sweetest thing

Hello and welcome to my Blog.

Love is the theme this week…

Colours

In a world of uniform green there are no signs or shadows.

Green against matching green,

No motion or being can be seen.

In a world all velvet black

The Raven’s flap silently,

Unseen across the sky.

Only the Magpie splashed with white,

It’s chittering calls rebel against

The oppressive purity of night.

In a world full of sounds,

And noise and lights confusing,

Only my thoughts in this silent room are still.

And in the middle you with me,

Knowing our crystal love.

Sharing a Soft Small Star

Untrue stars reveal

More certain truth on reflection. Merely points of light

In the weave.

The blue-black tent above us

Beyond light brighter Shining whiter

Than a thousand suns.

I recall a Caribbean lady on the bus

Sharing her story.

How a tropic storm frightened

And her Daddy held her in his arms

And said he would keep her safe

Always.

Even now at sixty she’d remembered

This when she was only three.

Had rummaged in her heart-folds

To produce this small soft star.

Let go her grasp to share

A small light illumining the tent

And those with her.

“Family and loving

Family and loving

That’s what’s the most important”

She said.

And the world hushed

For a time, to allow

Us all a silent Amen.

Gathered around

This soft small star

Shared in her free

And generous love.

What I Got, What I Miss

I have an old brown guitar and a green eyed cat

Some well-worn clothes with a photo of an acrobat.

Just a few possessions left over

From a rambling life.

I don’t mind about the money

But Lord I miss my wife.

I have a broken record player and a bitty TV

A lariat tie with a coral stone sea.

Driftwood gathered in and kept

From a road travelling scene.

I don’t mind about the weather

Just the places I’ve never been.

I got a box of old letters that I sometimes read

The way you used to love me was my every need.

But I’m wore out thinking

Of how it used to be.

I don’t miss the high-hog living

But I miss you and me.

I Found an Old Letter

I found an old letter that I had from you before

Praising love as a healer

Found inside someone

When they accept another through their door.

And though some lines had faded it continued

This is what the letter said

You are such a lovely person

I’ll keep this thought for you,

Even if apart or dead.

I look out of my window, love and kisses were at the end.

When you left my world was hurled

From the warmth of certainties we knew

I’m reminded watching the news alone,

We could sure use some healing in our world.

Like A Strange Dream

Like a strange dream

Half awake and slightly scary.

I have found me

In a world enchanted

But slightly uncontrolled.

Where my world

So usually neat and ordered

Melts to cloudy sweet confusion

If you are near.

Strange dream I love you.

Like a strange dream

Seeming clear yet slightly blurry.

You excite me

In a world that’s thrilling

But coloured with doubt.

Where my days

Simply plans and ticking boxes

Fade to loving peace together

If you are near.

Strange dream I love you.

I’m uncertain, so uncertain, yet.

Strange dream I love you.

You are still that girl

You are still that girl,

My lovely girl.

Even though the years may mould us both

In new forms, which to age must yield.

You are still that girl,

My lovely girl.

Sweet holding all that’s kind and true,

That essence of why I still love you.

When Half My Ground Is Taken

When half your ground is taken Leaving you lost,

In foreign land.

Just wriggle your toes

Seek something solid,

Where you can stand.

Find your sandbar above the level Midst the river flowing,

Lord knows where.

Sink your feet into those sandy pebbles Stand deep and firm,

Build again dreams there.

Half my ground’s now lost

But I don’t count the cost.

Turn my collar ‘gainst the frost

Or summers glare.

If you are there.

When the world seems half divided

Some folks get it, others undecided.

Others wrong.

Feels like nothing’s given, but I asked.

Slips out of holding, though it’s grasped.

Some constant storm.

Half my dreams fallen gone

But hope rises ‘bove the wrong.

Lost, the music pages faded,

But not the song.

Together we go along.

When half my ground is taken,

You’re my Home

I know your star would guide me if I’d roam.

When half my ground is taken,

You’re my Home.

Thank you for reading, till the next Blog, keep well and safe.

Best wishes,

Louis

This Blog and all contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2016. Poems taken from: Sharing a soft small star 2010 & See you in the big time 2011.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page