top of page

East Nashville Vibe

Hello and welcome to my poems and lyrics Blog.

A selection of pieces this week from my latest collection “East Nashville Vibe” (2016) containing the usual themes of love, music – blues and country, plus a little goth and steampunk for good measure!

East Nashville Vibe

You can hear the dobro, forget your pedal steel

Get out your ukulele

East Nashville keeps it roots and real

I’m tired of big hats, rhinestones,

All those re-worked formulas,

Clichés, recycled hits.

East Nash sifts out hoopla marketing

Leaves just golden nuggets bits.

We’re panning sifting keeping time

Like they did in forty nine.

Simply re-discovering the spirit

New time pioneers.

Here it’s genu-wine!

Who killed Country Music? It wasn’t so long ago

Now the artist delivers product

And cross-over’s all the go.

We’ll add a touch of Vegas

Flames and see the singers fly.

For those who love Country music

We just stare and wonder why.

Dark Lullabies

I know a little of everything

But not enough to make you sing.

I thought my future was shining, a star.

But my dreams were mistaken

Out of reach, too far.

So sing me your dark lullabies

As my eyes close I drift to the skies.

Sing me your dark lullabies

What I am ebbs away

It’s too late for replies.

I’ve done a little, pieces

Of this and that.

But nothing too deeply

No master is jack.

My courses I followed

Were all random trails.

Drifting through choices

That’s where it fails.

So sing me your dark lullabies

As my eyes close I drift to the skies.

Sing me your dark lullabies

What I am ebbs away

It’s too late for replies.

So sing me your dark lullabies

As my eyes close I drift to the skies.

So sing me your dark lullabies

As my eyes close I drift to the skies.

You!

You smile

Like sun breaking through clouds

On a cold grey day.

You snuggle

Like a velvet kitten

Beside a cosy fire, resting from play.

You press

Beside me like flowers shooting up to greet the spring.

You skip

Like a young girl joyful

At finding everything.

You tap

Making silly faces,

Not serious about a thing.

Dancing, spinning around the room

Then – no reason, you’ll sing!

You

Oh you, oh you, oh you.

I love you

You!

Thank you all for reading, till the next Blog, keep well and safe.

Best wishes,

Louis

This Blog and all contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2016. Materials taken from “East Nashville vibe” (2016)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page