top of page

The last Trump?

Hello and welcome to my Blog.

The title of this week’s Blog – “The last Trump?” – is a query as to whether if Trump does get impeached, and ceases to be president, then other variants of the same will just appear.

My Poem of the week on the home page of this site, “Beautiful Illusions”, reflects my own belief that Mr Trump got elected by a lot of people angry at their situation in life; the feeling they were left behind, and left without hope.

As such Trump’s election is a warning to all those in politics and public office to listen more to the mood of voters.

World

Sometimes you just want the world to be like a lost uncle;

Bursting into your room, shaking off the winter snow

He clutches you to himself then showers you with gifts

Because you’re you.

Sometimes you feel the world needs more light and fun;

Beamed into your room, as you do handstands

While over and over that crazy toe tapping tune plays

Because it must.

World oh world

What have you got today for me?

World oh world

Things happening, just wait n see.

Evil Has a Beauty

Evil has a beauty, like the tempter in the desert.

Some unseen hand directing writer’s pens,

filling books with lies.

Believed they make royalties rich

And literati Caleb glitz.

Evil beguiles, seducing. Ah you know I’m Right!

You see that all you do’s correct

when Evil chains up minds in night.

Half numbed to Good’s truth in some antichrist cocoon

Comfy we forget to search for light.

Evil feeling good, beckons us on to do.

Because I can I will and I am who

And what I am is good and the only law.

It justifies the cleansing pain, the correcting I do.

This heavy scent, not sent from Heaven

How it binds and cloys, numbs moral sense

And blunts to truth aware

In those that it alloys.

Like almonded sweetness of cyanide

Heavied with drowsy death, creamy white fungi peep

From chocolate barked flower beds sprung by rain.

Tempting you to eat, but once.

Evil has a beauty, and we are tempted so.

Evil has a beauty, we all have tasted.

Don’t ask me

Within without my altered state.

Part disconnected

From the world that others to relate.

You ask me is there hope?

But I’m hearing drowsily muffled in my cosy bubble,

Best to flip it back at you, what you decide dictates,

Salvation or some idiot with a candle

At the end of the tunnel.

Some folks really know, others fool themselves.

Keeping silent’s just my way of avoiding,

Making hostages of my syllables.

Truth may lie around the corner,

Or the curving highway, just beyond what you can see.

Others may be less smarter in their opinions,

But they’re talking

Don’t ask me.

The Affirmations

No sun can set, yet leaves * better wise.

Or smile when seen,

Can fail to light *’s eyes.

The winds may chill, as from the trees fall leaves.

But still the green spring comes,

*’s hope believes.

Life’s stone’s disturb the pool, reflections concealed.

Soon smoothed,

The returned beauty is revealed.

When life’s way dims and pleasures seem in dearth;

Friends hands will bear * up,

To resolve’s birth.

Keep these lines * around you, may they mean;

These affirmations close by,

Read and often seen.

For what we think and dwell on, oft it’s said;

Sets scripts for life,

Our feet follow our head.

* Replace and insert your name here to unlock the inner “blessing” of these lines.

What Dictionary Did You Swallow?

What dictionary did you swallow?

Do you think if you spout those words,

The meaning will just follow?

Making like a living fossil, a breathing Thesaurus;

Your alternatives, clever-dick antonyms,

Are beginning to bore us!

You invited me to join saying,

“Read this for the next time” (like my old Mater)

But some of us are wiser and handed it back

Saying “see you (much) later”.

So what sort of dictionary did you swallow?

Does it match the person you’d like to be,

That mask you borrow?

Applying all that highbrow stuff

And faux graces on your botoxed face.

You got so many highbrows, looks like your head

Is a caterpillar race.

What sort of dictionary did you swallow?

No matter how many times or how you say it,

The truth won’t follow.

Chosen

Simply chosen by some dumb ass gift

That keeps tapping on your shell.

At times only grateful for the fame and cash,

The rest could go to hell.

I’m surprised to find myself out there,

Fronting the adoring crowd.

Freeze, then slip into my mask again

Before I gasp out loud.

Chosen,

After all my struggles I don’t know or recall.

Chosen

Don’t know by what or who,

In shadows what comes next,

What will befall.

Simply chosen while asleep

It heeds no night and will not let me rest.

This Lady’s fickle raising trash,

Dumps others, some the best.

I thought I was the clever one by far

But it leaves me guessing.

When will my time come around,

When will I see my star?

Chosen,

I never asked for this, just sought it out.

Chosen,

After all self pity and some doubt

Sometimes it calls in whispers

Not a shout.

Too Much Scary Trouble

You can walk to corners, stand and see the world,

Buy a paper from the newsstand, to hold the news unfurled;

With several million possibilities launched, beached or hurled.

Seemed just too scary for me,

I had to go back and watch my TV.

Too scary for me.

You can wake under the duvet, yawn to face the world,

Cook some eggs and bacon, Danish nicely whirled;

Under grannies picture framed in wood, that’s nicely grained and burled.

Seems too much trouble for me,

I had to go back to bed and sleep you see.

Too much scary trouble for me.

Losing a Tooth

Tomorrow at 10am, the third,

The Dentist will commence extracting.

An event exacting regret,

Marking as it will a notch along the physical decline.

As trees shed leaves in autumn,

Yet this “leaf” once lost will not bud or grow again;

But in my mind eyes stir, to see corn waving

In Elysium fields, green turning to gold with time spent.

So what if my teeth are now one less?

(The count of age in my flesh)

My mind has seen the places where the Unicorns graze,

Where they whinny I must follow.

Pieces this week are taken from my collection “See you in the big time” 2011 also “The Network is currently down” (rants in rhyme or vitriolic verses) 2011

Thank you all for reading, till the next Blog, keep well and safe.

Best wishes,

Louis

This Blog and all contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2016.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page