top of page

With us already - the mystery of Cats

Hello and welcome to my poems and lyrics Blog.

I’ll start with Cats- mysterious creatures- then we go to the Blues and love.

With Us Already

My aged hands, flesh covered maps with venous rills. Spotted fissured knuckles,

Like knotted hills.

Outside: the frosted window

Night black with stars.

Inside: the steady tick and tock;

Some tea and chocolate bars.

Grimalkin cat:

Non-human warmth and fur,

Pet alien, I stroke- you purr.

Fireside we sleep;

Each with dreams to the other unknown. Old man and cat;

Together, alone.

Worn Down Working Poor Man Blues

They say if you love world, it’ll love you back.

Well I tried this plan of work, this philosophy, produced only lack.

Seems I’m in a bubble,

My silent screams never heard, to others invisible, they can’t see or feel my trouble.

Its long way down, but a straight way to misery.

Received cant, trite sayings and platitudes.

Blend in some urban myths, repeated with unreliable news.

Listen what some people saying, solid certain yet they’ve never been there, must be simply words they’re spraying?

It’s world of BS experts, shining you and me.

Worn down working poor man Blues,

Always trying to get another life, another deal to choose.

Working hard still get nowhere, ain’t that the truth?

No denying.

I used to read some fiction, including The Invisible Man.

But realised its real, to my bitter chagrin.

For I’m giving cards, networking and knocking ever hopeful someone, someday to fill my stocking.

But dollars sure ain’t flowing to this paradigm.

“Money can’t buy happiness” it’s true.

But neither can it make you poor (so screw you)

If cash means misery in better surroundings despite this cornball wisdom, contrary confoundings.

Then bring on cash; I’s tired of being poor, perhaps you too?

Worn down working poor man Blues, always trying to get another life,

Another deal to choose.

Working hard still get nowhere, ain’t that the truth?

No denying.

I’d like to go somewhere the sun 24/7 shines; with open topped Bentleys, expensive wines. Pastor says: “bless the poor, your rewards in heaven”; but haven’t seen no Pastors working at the 7-11.

Grandaddy said: “all clergy are professional beggars”, tell me was he so very wrong?

“Lo, the poor are with us always”. This is said.

But only do you care, when it’s you ain’t got your bread.

Meanwhile the view from penthouse apartments, is of distant fires from shanty town shacks; safely beyond security guarded escarpments.

Too far away to see us poor folk eating rats n cats.

Worn down working poor man Blues, always trying to get another life,

Another deal to choose.

Working hard still get nowhere, ain’t that the truth?

No denying.

They say if you love world, it’ll love you back.

Well I tried this plan of work, this philosophy, produced only lack.

So send me out to space via the Hubble,

No one is there to see, or feel my trouble.

In peace, comfortably disengaged, I won’t be coming back.

Worn down working poor man Blues, always trying to get another life,

Another deal to choose.

Working hard still get nowhere, ain’t that the truth?

No denying.

You Melted into My Heart (Te amo demais, querida)

You crept upon my chest and melted into my heart

Like a Kitten with your soft endearing cries.

Now I get home every day to your notes left through my door just passing,

So you left them for my lover’s eyes.

It was in the snowy winter, as you came into my house.

I joked that you were some snow woodpecker, as you knocked the slush off your boots. Little then did I know that we were fixed together to go far.

It’s in the smallest moments shared we’re laying down deep roots.

Now you’re snuggling like a cat

Breaths like gentle purrs

In the night I’ll sometimes wake and then recall

How sometimes the love we get isn’t planned or shaped to be.

Some things unexpected turn out to be best of all.

You crept upon my chest and melted into my heart

Like a Kitten with your soft endearing cries.

Now I get home every day to you opening my door just loving, for us both time flies.

Stroke My Soul

Sing, say the words that stroke my soul. For only you have the key, that power, that soothes all troubles, see them flow away.

And I don’t mind, it’s so sweet not have control.

Dance, slowly in the half-light gently move.

Feel the love just sharing, being here.

Our secret place suspending, all time and the world.

All is enough, to continue in that groove.

Speak, and I will listen drinking in your words.

Each sentence, phrase, gently whispers, murmurs, purrs.

Contently calms my troubled seas, till the world’s wearing waves of rage, of disappointments, become smoothed and flat.

Seek, while others seek what we have found.

Love as a silent wave flows among us

For lucky ones, swept in love’s currents to its blessed isle.

Blessed I am to stand, to lie, to know this ground.

A Loving Sleep

Sometimes when you are away, I’ll snuggle for my naps with your dressing gown.

I say it keeps me just right, not too warm or hot.

Yet its softness, and the faint scent of you and your perfume, keeps you still here.

Other times we journey through the night, and I hold you my driftwood pearl.

Against the nocturne current, safely close to me.

A loving sleep; and over us a billion soft small stars,

In love our bodies, our souls shall keep.

Two dreamers drifting to the dawn, a loving sleep.

Roses Shining After Rain

Roses shining after rain and love will come again.

For after all the cost, some pain and some things lost.

Roses shining after rain.

Woke up on a Tuesday morning, through my window saw the skies.

Then recalled you’re gone and also too those hopes, sweet lover’s lies.

But it’s too late now I thought

As sleepy stumbling to the kitchen

For the past like clouds flows by

So I’ll ignore these old scars, or those memories that keep itching.

Roses shining after rain and love will come again.

For after all the cost, some pain and some things lost.

Roses shining after rain.

Going through my daily routine cups o coffee, toast and ham n eggs.

The mechanics of my life, just seem to help give my empty living legs.

Till somebody new, on another day appears.

To blow these clouds away, gently healing, soothing fears.

Warming me with love, sunshine after tears

Roses shining after rain and love will come again.

For after all the cost, some pain and some things lost.

Roses shining after rain.

Pieces this week are taken from my collection “See you in the big time” 2011

Thank you all for reading and following me, till the next Blog, keep well and safe.

Best wishes,

Louis

This Blog and all contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2016.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page