top of page

Like a strange dream...

Hello, welcome to this week’s Blog; continuing lyrics and poems taken from my 2011 collection “Reggae Riddeema”.

Poem of the week on the homepage, “Communion”, refers to the union of two persons in a relationship, becoming one.

Enjoy the poems and lyrics. Until my next Blog, have a good week and take care.

Best wishes,

Louis

This Blog and all contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2017. All poems taken from the collection “Reggae Riddeema”, 2011

© Louis J. Casson 2017 all rights reserved.

Like A Strange Dream

Like a strange dream

Half awake and slightly scary.

I have found me

In a world enchanted

But slightly uncontrolled.

Where my world

So usually neat and ordered

Melts to cloudy sweet confusion

If you are near.

Strange dream I love you.

Like a strange dream

Seeming clear yet slightly blurry.

You excite me

In a world that’s thrilling

But coloured with doubt.

Where my days

Simply plans and ticking boxes

Fade to loving peace together

If you are near.

Strange dream I love you.

I’m uncertain, so uncertain, yet.

Strange dream I love you.

The Blues Can Come Later After All

Maybe I hadn’t planned it this way

And perhaps tomorrow

We’ll go separate ways.

But it’s too late to pause now

We’re both headed to fall

So the blues can come later after all.

Maybe we shouldn’t have been here both

Away alone in the corner

From the rest of the folks.

But I’m feeling so fine now

Kiss me softly in the hall

So the blues can come later after all.

Its early days

And with joys in my heart

When you know that it‘s begun

That’s when you know

You could part.

That’s the risk of love’s art.

Maybe I hadn’t planned it this way

And perhaps tomorrow

We’ll go separate ways.

But it’s too late to pause now

We’re both headed to fall

So the blues can come later after all.

What a Great Day to Be

Looked out my window what did I see?

Not cloud in the sky

What a great day to be.

Looked into my mind what was there?

Not a single shadow,

Trouble or care.

Found some joy in my heart

Singing loud clear to see.

The future’s arrived

What a great day to be.

Looked at my children what did I see?

The hopes of the world

Smiling back at me.

Missing my Wife what did I feel?

Some things though unseen

Don’t mean they’re not real.

Found some joy in my heart

Singing loud clear to see.

The future’s arrived

What a great day to be.

Sharing a Soft Small Star

Untrue stars reveal

More certain truth on reflection.

Merely points of light

In the weave.

The blue-black tent above us

Beyond light brighter

Shining whiter

Than a thousand suns.

I recall a Caribbean lady on the bus

Sharing her story.

How a tropic storm frightened

And her Daddy held her in his arms

And said he would keep her safe

Always.

Even now at sixty she’d remembered

This when she was only three.

Had rummaged in her heart-folds

To produce this small soft star.

Let go her grasp to share

A small light illumining the tent

And those with her.

“Family and loving

Family and loving

That’s what’s the most important”

She said.

And the world hushed

For a time, to allow

Us all a silent Amen.

Gathered around

This soft small star

Shared in her free

And generous love.

Dear Sofa Space

I went outside for a walk to look around.

The river flows

Over the stones, smoothing them as it passes.

And the wind has blown the trees over

Branches bent in one direction.

What use has the river for the stones?

What use has the wind for the trees?

Except to be in the making

Of smoothing and shaping.

I came back inside and thought:

She used to joke he was;

“An old brown Sofa, no use but the place wouldn’t be the same without him”.

You are gone, and I am neither wind nor river.

But your empty space I will need to fill again,

To fill myself.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page