top of page

It can stop raining anytime

Hello ,welcome to my poems / lyrics Blog.

This week the muse gave to me some new poems. It was the usual process: first a line or perhaps two lines, then when ready, something tells me to sit and write it out in one draft, revising it later to get the final cut.

Another source may be a remark of comment someone makes, this is in the case of it can stop raining anytime. Originally this was a one line comment on Facebook from my friend Jimmy Haggard, a blues musician now living in Oregon. Jimmy posted the first line and for some reason I added the other lines/lyrics to complete a blues piece.

Later I will print off the lines to make the words into a song, so to remind myself I added some outline instructions at the end. Maybe it will be in the key of A.

It can stop raining anytime

It can stop raining anytime,

But I can’t stop this love o mine.

Since your gone seems like a year,

And this must be my thousandth tear.

It can stop raining anytime,

Hope someday we’re doing fine.

(SOLO)

REPEAT VERSE / END.

Here’s another poem I wrote this week. It’s pretty straight forward.

Someone stole my dream

Someone stole my dream.

While I slept, gone when I awoke.

Someone stole my signs.

Distracted for a moment,

They were shifted as a joke.

Others removed my future.

Although promised many things,

Before I knew it thefts completed

Left us all controlled on strings.

Happy land with status projects

Austerity year after year.

But those rosy hued illusions

All failed to disappear.

Some on stole my hope.

Instead of wet rooms with scented gel,

Cold water with hard soap.

We can believe lies and follow

Or refusing fight unwanted change.

Each person’s portion of courage,

Leading on to the future we arrange.

To the future we arrange.

You can’t hitch a ride on life like you can a car

VERSE # 1

Seeing Jesus’ face in a piece of toast.

I got distracted, missed Grandma’s ghost.

What a jerk

(I thought)

As I drove to work.

VERSE# 2

Just like the time I didn’t see, Nessy in Loch Ness.

Pre-occupied elsewhere by some boobs in a dress.

What a shame

(A short attention span)

Just me to blame.

CHORUS

Everything’s happening all round

But just not to me.

Everyone’s looking in the right way

But it aint me.

Maybe I’ll get lucky,

But sadly not so far.

Still I keep on hoping, waiting

You can’t hitch a ride on life, like you can a car.

You can’t hitch a ride on life, like you can a car.

I recently posted this on LinkedIn under John Casson, as my parallel calling is as a Coach. Worth re-posting here.

How creativity assists business.

Creativity assists business. By this I mean practising the arts (poetry, art and musical activities) can foster enhanced performance generally, helping you gain facilities you can use in any business.

So what can practising the arts help you gain?

  • Poetry. Writing poems enables you to express you views and feeling. Either free verse or within the discipline of a form (Haiku, Sonnets among others)

  • Music (writing lyrics / Performing / song-writing). Playing with others develops listening skills, working together, sharing ideas.

  • Well-being and Relaxation. In common to all the above, if engaged as an absorbing hobby/passion; they have the ability to lift you into a zone where times flows as you enjoy the practise. There is also relaxation to be gained, as the cares of business are suspended for a period.

  • What if? Exploring. In music we are free to push the boundaries, to combine and produce our own eclectic mix of genres, devising new musical scales and forms.

  • The practise of fun and joy. Most adults have forgotten and no longer know how to play, a source of fun and joy.

I hope the above motivates you to consider taking up a creative activity, as I personally have found music and poetry useful in unlocking the points above, having a positive effect on my Coaching business.

John Casson, 6 March 2017

I hope you have enjoyed reading this Blog

Keep safe as always,

Louis

This Blog and contents copyright Louis J. Casson, 2017


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page