top of page

You can't hitch a ride on life.

Hello and welcome to this week’s Blog.

The following poem is written as I free flowed my mind and the words followed. As such – like other poems I’ve written – there’s no strict literal meaning; but it’s OK because some lines come better that way. Great lines mean great hooks.

I like the playful tone in the words, not often do I write happy or playful words for lyrics or poems. Am I mostly in “Country & Western” mode when writing poems/lyrics? Most C& W classic songs deal with life’s downs, but they’re still great songs.

You can’t hitch a ride on life like you can a car

VERSE # 1

Seeing Jesus’ face in a piece of toast.

I got distracted, missed Grandma’s ghost.

What a jerk

(I thought)

As I drove to work.

VERSE# 2

Just like the time I didn’t see, Nessy in Loch Ness.

Pre-occupied elsewhere by some boobs in a dress.

What a shame

(A short attention span)

Just me to blame.

CHORUS

Everything’s happening all round

But just not to me.

Everyone’s looking in the right way

But it aint me.

Maybe I’ll get lucky,

But sadly not so far.

Still I keep on hoping, waiting

You can’t hitch a ride on life, like you can a car.

You can’t hitch a ride on life, like you can a car.

The poem “Expired Retired” is my musing and re-framing of the issue that the retirement zone is approaching me. On the one hand it’s a ceasing some things, but equally starting new chapters to devote more time to other passions – music and poems in my case – or to take up new areas to explore. FYI I had the Deep Purple tune “Lazy” loosely in my mind as I wrote the words. I think I was watching a program on Sky arts of a Deep Purple concert at the time! (Who said poets can’t multi-task)

Expired Retired

Expired retired,

I do no longer play.

Expired retired,

It’s all back in the day.

Expired retired,

Waiting to fade away.

Retired renewed,

Lots of my stuff is new.

Retired renewed,

Then along comes you.

Retired renewed,

Too busy to be blue.

Expired retired,

That’s what some folks say.

But you could be surprised to find

A brand new day.

Expired renewed,

Just flying on my new wings today.

I hope you have enjoyed reading this Blog.

Happy trails and keep safe as always,

Louis

This Blog and contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2017

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page