top of page

Just a whistle in the night

Hello, welcome to this week’s Blog.

Two new poems/lyrics this week. “Too late now” and “Just a whistle in the night”.

In “Too late now” I wrote the end two lines first for each verse, changing one word in the final line. Then I went back to write the main words of each verse. Along the way I came up with a mid-break/ chorus.

Overall the piece has a musing, philosophical tone.

“Just a whistle in the night”. Is influenced by listening to Country & Western songs about trains.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my Blog.

Keep safe as always,

Louis

This Blog and contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2017

Just a whistle in the night

VERSE # 1

Early just before dawn

Train whistle blowing, down the tracks.

It always says farewell, that you’re gone.

CHORUS

Just a whistle in the night

Just before the light.

Brings thoughts to me now

Of love that used to be.

Just a whistle heard and there

Comes an ache to show I care.

But the train that took you gone

Just won’t return to me.

VERSE # 2

Birds sing greetings to the morn

But I can’t sing along

My blues are just too strong

To join their delight.

REPEAT CHORUS

Too late now

VERSE # 1

I like your deal, those words you say.

Your plans, details, that certain way.

But it’s too late, too late

Far too late, to start things now.

VERSE #2

Could have chosen diff’rent, picked another day.

You shouldn’t start here, or that’s what they say.

But it’s too late, too late

Far too late, to change things now.

MID BREAK / CHORUS

Too late to change, too late to start,

You need to be early to work the art.

Better use time well, what your days send.

Before you find too late, you’re at the end.

VERSE #3

Like a rock that’s rolling, on down the hill.

It keeps on rushing, out of my will.

But it’s too late, too late

Far too late, to end things now.

REPEAT MID BREAK / CHORUS

SOLO INSTRUMENTAL TO END.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page