top of page

Everyone must find their shining path

Hello, welcome to my Blog this week, I hope you all enjoyed a happy Easter.

This week’s poems and lyrics….

“The Blues ain’t what they used to be” Is a tongue in cheek take on how the traditional references/landmarks in Blues lyrics are no longer as valid, becoming historic references. But no reason why we can’t include contemporary allusions in modern Blues songs?

In “Everyone must find their shining path” the words are pretty clear. We all have to find that core passion or talent, but I also appeal to thinking things through, well worth the effort.

Poem of the week on the homepage, “I’ve heard that song before” is my attempt at the jazz ballad. I’ve yet to write words with a tunesmith, but I expect If I do then the lyrics will alter a little. I’ll have to see…

Till next time keep safe and well,

Louis

This Blog and contents, copyright Louis J. Casson 2017

TAGS: music, Blues, poems, poetry, lyrics, jazz, jazz ballad. I’ve heard that song before, Everyone must find their shining path, The Blues ain’t what they used to be.

The Blues ain’t what they used to be

CHORUS

Sing…

The blues aint what they used to be

Listen and you’ll have to agree.

What with one thing and another

I tell you brother to brother

The blues aint what they used to be.

VERSE # 1

The delta has just dried up and gone.

Covered over with condos, malls and freeways,

That’s why I’m feeling forlorn.

CHORUS

VERSE #2

Loss ‘n’ lack just ain’t what it used to be

I got all that ol skool tech around me.

Just not the high definition life I’d like to see.

CHORUS

VERSE #3

My Hellhound don’t leave his kennel anymore

He’s gone grey around his muzzle

Stretched out on the floor.

CHORUS

VERSE #4

Don’t go down to play at the crossroads

There’s too much noise and traffic overloads.

You could find yourself under a truck

For them blues don’t give a F*ck

And the Blues ain’t what they used to be.

CHORUS

Everyone must find their shining path

Everyone must find their shining path,

Forget that shining hour.

So contemplate, go figure how,

You decide what’s in your power.

The ways may seem through clouds at first,

But then – unexpected – you’ll see your way.

To follow constantly your personal star,

Through night and every day.

So sharpen your acuity

Cease your vacuity

Seeking knowledge

Pays an eternal annuity.

What I got I simply bring,

It’s the only song I sing.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page