top of page

I thought I fixed my bed

Hello and welcome.

I hope you all have had a good and revitalizing vacation. I'm pretty busy at the moment doing the final edit and tweaks to upcoming poems/lyrics collections.

Just this morning I experienced that moment where you read or hear a remark that sparks off the muse leading to a poem. In my case I was reading a Facebook comment by a friend and the line "I thought I fixed my bed" struck me, so I went to see if it would lead to a poem, and happily it did!

Here's the poem...

I thought I fixed my bed

I thought I fixed my bed.

The sleepless nights

Long and uncomfortable.

So I removed and replaced the mattress

But still I find no rest.

I thought I fixed my bed but

Since you are gone I know

First I need to fix my heart.

On the home page you'll find another poem - my poem of the week - Please don't change the words"

The homepage only gives part of the poem, due to space restrictions - so here it is in full...

Please don’t change the words

Please don’t change the words

They were given from a train.

The one the midnight rhymer rides

When he visits now and again.

Throws them at me as he passes

Like a sack of mail or grain.

So please don’t change the words

As given from the train.

Please don’t change the tune

It it’s flawed, it’s broken right.

Tunes come from rooms within my mind

Hidden from my sight.

They knock, the door I open

With no fuss or fight.

So please don’t change the tune

It simply isn’t right.

Please don’t change the chords

They move my songs along.

Cutting sharp like swords

My whispers in the storm.

So please don’t change the chords

I’d miss them when they’re gone.

Like most poets - or writers- the words are where we live and our babies, so naturally we fee protective, maybe a little too much at times.

That's all for now, till my next Blog , keep safe.

Louis

This Blog and contents copyright Louis J. Casson 2017 . All rights reserved.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page