top of page

From the garden of my mind...

The title of this Blog is taken from my upcoming poetry / lyrics collections. A fruitful year, the muse of poetry and lyrics gave me a lot of pieces this year. So I've had to spit the collection into two parts (1 & 2). I'm not an artist- no training in this area - so still struggling with the cover pictures but I hope to publish early in Spring 2018.

If you are reading this Blog could you do me a favour? In order to get some positive feedback on the number of persons who are reading this Blog, just email me on xxxxxxx.... with the phrase "I'm get it", thanks in advance for your help with this.

On to the poems / lyrics...

The Blues ain’t what they used to be

CHORUS

Sing…

The blues ain't what they used to be

Listen and you’ll have to agree.

What with one thing and another

I tell you brother to brother

The blues ain't what they used to be.

VERSE # 1

The delta has just dried up and gone.

Covered over with condos, malls and freeways,

That’s why I’m feeling forlorn.

CHORUS

VERSE #2

Loss ‘n’ lack just ain’t what it used to be

I got all that ol skool tech around me.

Just not the high definition life I’d like to see.

CHORUS

VERSE #3

My Hellhound don’t leave his kennel anymore

He’s gone grey around his muzzle

Stretched out on the floor.

CHORUS

VERSE #4

Don’t go down to play at the crossroads

There’s too much noise and traffic overloads.

You could find yourself under a truck

For them Blues don’t give a f*ck

And the Blues ain’t what they used to be.

CHORUS

Closer till I scream

So many times I’ve compromised

Told myself it’s OK

Swallowed up my lies.

But when you find your perfect thing

So true, so perfect

It’s all blue skies.

Touching beauty, now I’ve found

Completeness, knowing the dream.

Tastes so sweet, now so near

Closer, closer till I scream.

Closer, closer till I scream.

That's all for this month, thanks for reading and keep safe.

Louis

Poems/ lyrics taken from "From the garden of my mind, Part 1. This Blog and contents Copyright Louis J. Casson 2017 All rights reserved.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page