top of page

Heads I win tails you lose

Hello everyone,

Thanks to those who responded to my “call to action” in my last Blog. Interestingly no-one emailed me, but I did get a response via LinkedIn and requests to connect via LinkedIn/Facebook. So responses, good!

These pieces are taken from my yet to be released poems/lyrics collections “From the garden of my mind” (parts 1 & 2).

In “Heads I win tails you lose”, the underlying thought is about the industry of those offering solutions and help, while really it’s all about making money for themselves and boosting their egos. False salvations offered for cash.

“Stuffed up twist and shout” is partly poem partly lyric. A piece of black humour. I find it difficult to write pieces in a light tone, except for love poems.

“What remains?” This poem was written in response to a recent death in my extended family. In a real sense anyone remains with us after their physical life.

Thanks for reading my Blog, have a happy Christmas and good New Year.

Best wishes, Louis

Heads I win, tails you lose

Heads I win, tails you lose

If you’re seeking validation there’s plenty to choose.

Crystals, regression, past lives

Keeping mindful in your brain.

Though the label keeps changing

The con just keeps the same.

There’s a whole industry feeding on the lonely, hurt and lost.

Good livings to be made from those washed-up on life’s tides.

Sift the nuggets, do the gig

And take their money

Let the suckers play their part

Regretting later the cost.

Study well the weak and vulnerable

The grieving and the hurt.

For it’s within the tragic

And the gloomy

Lies your gold hidden by

Problematic crap,

Sticky dross and dirt.

Watch for strands and feelings

Themes and commonplace.

Pick up on the facials, vocal tells,

Add a touch of feigned sympathy

Wring the rubes,

Chime – kerching- the golden bells.

Heads I win, tails you lose,

But where’s the path out

Of this sewer and stink?

Simply seek the truth

Pause, discern and think.

Stuffed up twist and shout

(Song of the terminally depressed lawn mowing man)

I only live in dreams, the sweet bye and bye.

While the grass I’m mowing, don’t look up

To see the sky.

Nailed to the earth, I once had eagle’s wings.

Happy endings, golden dreams.

Maybe chicken for dinner,

Now all my hopes it seems.

Roll on death

There’s no way out.

It’s all some stuffed up

Twist and shout.

Roll on death

There’s no way out.

It’s all some stuffed up

Twist and shout.

What remains?

We’ve read those books

Written by those long ago.

Books read by us, who will in turn pass on.

What remains after?

Maybe a book of prayers

A coat, a coin dug up, with perhaps a name.

If not these, then at least a trace is found.

We truly only die when someone ceases to remember.

So light a candle in your thoughts and so your heart.

Do this in pausing to remember

And play your part.

All Blog contents © Louis J. Casson 2017 / 2018 all rights reserved.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page